Léon art & stories is 10 years old!

To discover: a merry band of books focus on animals and tools for teachers full of ideas

In the media

Encres vagabondes

Encres vagabondes

18 Apr 2015

by Cécile de Ram

In these two books from the series Mini Leon, we meet again with the little chameleon, the publishing house mascot. Each double page provides details of a master’s painting and a compelling illustration with a poetic and funny comment. At the end of the book, there are brief and clear notes. Here is the cutest little books to cultivate, to marvel and to have fun: an interesting opening on painting, echoing literature, in French and in English.

Two comic strip manner and colourful books, to develop sensitivity to art and observation in very young readers.

Small books but incredibly strong!

Clouds / Nuages Monsters / Monstres


Blog Appelez moi Madame

Blog Appelez moi Madame

18 Dec 2014

Under the Great wave

Some books are nuggets, as this one proves to be.

The text is poetic, rigorous, each word is carefully chosen and offers the reader a journey to the heart of Japan. This is a form of writing called Haiku: small poems composed of 17 syllables.

Parents reading this rich book can go further: what is a tsunami? A print? At the end of the book, eight questions are asked and simple answers are made.

This book is stunning, upsetting. It makes people curious and makes you want to know everything about Japan, and Mount Fuji legends.

Under the Great Wave [reprint]


Blog Sous le feuillage

Blog Sous le feuillage

3 Nov 2014

by Lael

Azulie into the Night

The text of Nancy Guilbert explores the themes of fear, love and mythology in a beautiful tale, poetic and initiatory. Azulie is drawn into the world of night and shadows. It attracts her and terrifies her at the same time. Then a fascinating world appears full of dangers including the struggle between Good and Evil. The Master of nightmares, frightening silhouettes, fears are all coming up to mind. But Azulie is guided by a beautiful blue bird... bewitched. Only courage will help her overcome her fears, with the help of a mysterious Mirror of Truth and her violin.

Nancy Guilbert’s delicate text fits perfectly in Chagall's art world.

At the end of the album, the eight referenced masterpieces can be seen, allowing children and adults to find again every details. Next in short boxes the author makes the point on a technical, biographical and aesthetic aspect: Who is Marc Chagall? The important role of music in the history of Azulie. Why does Chagall so often use the blue color? The link between narrative fiction and art, between text and image helps doing multiple and rich meaning interpretations.

An approach of art full of originality and beauty, another way to tell the art.

Azulie into the Night


Le Petit Léonard

Le Petit Léonard

Oct 2014

Soaring Colors


Inter CDI

Inter CDI

Jan-Feb 2014

by Y.D.

Léon art & stories publishing house produces brilliant books about painters. In each book you can find a fictional text, imagined from the masterpieces of the artist, a zoom in on details of art works and a two-page documentary. The books are also beautifuly illustrated by watercolors of Hélène Kerillis who also writes brilliant texts. You must have these books on your shelves because on top of this, they exist in English, providing opportunities for a very interesting work.


Le Petit Léonard

Le Petit Léonard

Dec 2013

The Sky Blue Ribbon

At the dancing hall Le Moulin de la Galette in Montmartre, George the poet finds a sky-blue ribbon on the ground. Immediately, he imagines that it belongs to a beautiful unknown lady. A love story (Joconde loves it) that helps to discover the famous impressionist masterpiece of Auguste Renoir "Dance at Le Moulin de la Galette". In the same series of books, The night of the mermaids is based on The empire of light by René Magritte.

The Sky Blue Ribbon


Encres vagabondes

Encres vagabondes

26 Nov 2013

by Serge Cabrol

"A wonderful book worth reading..."


The night of the mermaids is a book between light and shadow, between life and death. Hélène Kerillis makes her colorful heroines living through close details of six paintings, mainly The Empire of light, but also The unexpected answer, Popular view, Happy donor and The red model.

After the lights have been shut down in the dormitory, Jane runs away from the boarding school and seeks her gold pendant in the night. Max and his gang have thrown it over the wall for fun. Jane comes down along the canal to search in the mud but she loses her footing and the water grasps her...

Fortunately, a group of young mermaids who is living in an underground lake begins its Great Migration to the sea. And they eventually swim the canal that runs along the school.

A beautiful story, in dark and light, full of emotions, which makes the unlikely encounter between lonesome Jane and Iris the mermaid happen ...

The last pages show the six canvases in full and a double documentary page gives insight on the painter and his works. An extract gives a track about the genesis of the story invented by Helen Kerillis: Jane is a fictional character. But she was inspired by a dramatic event in Magritte’s life: his mother drowned in the river Sambre when he was only 13 years old. Art might have been the way Magritte could recover from mourning.

A wonderful book worth reading, watching, describing or reviewing by the younger. A series to have on display in all libraries, a beautiful gift for children that is also appealing to adults accompanying the little ones reading.

The Night of the Mermaids


Le Petit Léonard

Le Petit Léonard

Sep 2013

The Tulip Heart

Art and fiction come together in this beautiful book for children. The hero, named Joris, works in a small laundry. One day, his family goes bankrupt and the young boy intends to take revenge.

The story takes place in the seventieth Dutch period. It is inspired by The Night Watch by Rembrandt which is on display at the new re-opened Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam.

There is another book from the same series: The Sun House based on the masterpiece The yellow house by Vincent van Gogh.

The Tulip Heart


Nous Voulons Lire

Nous Voulons Lire

Aug-Oct 2013

Helen Kerillis is known for her series of books Pont des Arts at L’élan vert. She launches a new series named Art- Fiction, at the publishing house settled in Bordeaux Leon art & stories. The concept is the same, involving a famous work of art and a fiction inspired by the work, and a final documentary page about the masterpiece with questions and answers.

What is unique about this project? First the launching of each book seems to be linked with art news : in 2013, for the reopening of the Rijksmuseum The tulip heart based on Rembrandt 's Night Watch and for the reopening of Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam The sun house inspired by the painting of Van Gogh The yellow house in Arles. Hence the books are published at the same time in French, English and Dutch. The project is clever.

Moreover, the fiction is rooted in the context of the creation and a precise analysis of the details; the books are mainly illustrated by a new staging of these details, clipped and isolated. A narrator, short narrative texts and cartoon bubbles that make the characters speak are added . (...)

In The Sun House, the author uses not only one painting, The yellow house, but several works from the time of Arles. The narrator is Camille, the son of the postman Roulin. The author uses their two portraits The Postman and Camille Roulin, and also The bedroom and Self portrait as a painter, 1887. The story is based on the feelings of this child about the painter, as a mix of real history (the argument with Gauguin and the ear cut off ) and the plausible invention : the painter's life in Arles, gossip and outcast in a small town. This is a fictionalized biographical episode. The layout of images is interesting with the juxtaposition of details revealing how the yellow color is haunting the painter.

Both books want to be closer to art history than fiction. First, they are the result of a careful look at the masterpiece, then imagination fills in the gaps, creating empathy and releasing emotions. We are looking forward to reading more... C. CS.

Mention ' Very good work ' for The Sun House

The Tulip Heart The Sun House


Valeurs Mutualistes

Valeurs Mutualistes

Jul-Aug 2013

Two children’s books come with the re-opening of two museums in Amsterdam, the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum: the series of books helps children 6-8 to discover masterpieces by Rembrandt and Van Gogh in a fictional way.

The two books have been translated into English and Dutch (Léon art & stories). The author, Hélène Kérillis, has two aims: make the cultural heritage appealing for children and develop creative stories of her own.

The Tulip Heart The Sun House

Livre Paris 2019

Du 15 au 18 mars 2019, retrouvez Léon au Salon du Livre de Paris sur le stand de la région Nouvelle Aquitaine - E78

On en parle

Blog Sous le feuillage

Blog Sous le feuillage

3 Nov 2014

par Lael

Azulie dans la Nuit

Le texte de Nancy Guilbert aborde les thèmes de la peur, de l'amour et de la mythologie dans un conte magnifique, poétique et initiatique. Azulie est entraînée dans le monde de la nuit et des ombres. Elles l'attirent tout autant qu'elles la terrifient. Se révèle alors un univers fascinant, empreint de dangers notamment de la lutte du Bien et du Mal. Le Maître des cauchemars, des silhouettes angoissantes, les peurs ressurgissent. Mais Azulie est guidée par un bel oiseau bleu...ensorcelé. Seul son courage pourra l'aider à vaincre ses peurs, armée d'un mystérieux Miroir de Vérité et de son violon.

Le mariage du texte délicat de Nancy Guilbert s'adapte parfaitement à l'univers artistique de Chagall.

A la fin de l'album, les huit tableaux référencés sont repris, permettant à l'enfant et à l'adulte de retrouver les extraits. On trouve ensuite de courts encadrés qui font le point sur un aspect technique, biographique et esthétique : Qui est Marc Chagall ? Le rôle important de la musique dans l'histoire d'Azulie, Pourquoi Chagall utilise le bleu si souvent? Le lien entre récit de fiction et art, entre texte et image permet de faire de multiples interprétations riches de sens.

Une approche de l'art tout en originalité et en beauté, une autre manière de raconter l'art.

Azulie dans la Nuit


Le Petit Léonard

Le Petit Léonard

Oct 2014

L'envol des couleurs

Elisabeth vit dans une ville étrange : tout est bleu et tout le monde est obligé d'aimer cette couler. La jeunne fille tombe amoureuse d'un garçon de la ville rouge. Or pour le père d'Elisabeth, les Rouges sont tous des menteurs. Melchior, l'amoureux d'Elisabeth, part chercher la couleur écarlate pour devenir riche...

Cette histoire, où l'art et la fiction se mêlent, te plonge dans l'univers de Johannes Vermeer, un des plus grand peintres du siècle d'or hollandais, le 17ème siècle.

L'Envol des Couleurs


Inter CDI

Inter CDI

Jan-Fev 2014

par Y.D.

Les éditions Léon art & stories publient de magnifiques albums sur des peintres. Chacun d’entre eux comprend un texte de fiction, imaginé à partir des oeuvres de l’artiste, des zooms sur des détails des œuvres ainsi qu’une double-page documentaire. Les albums sont également illustrés des magnifiques aquarelles d’Hélène Kérillis, qui signe aussi de très beaux textes. Des ouvrages à posséder absolument, d’autant qu’ils existent également en Anglais, ce qui peut permettre un très intéressant travail.


Le Petit Léonard

Le Petit Léonard

Dec 2013

Le Ruban Bleu Ciel

Au bal du Moulin de la Galette, à Montmartre, Georges le poète trouve par terre un ruban bleu ciel. Aussitôt, il rêve d’une belle inconnue… Une histoire d’amour (Joconde adore) qui permet de se plonger dans le célèbre tableau impressionniste d’Auguste Renoir, Le bal du Moulin de la Galette. Dans la même collection La Nuit des Sirènes inspiré par L’Empire des lumières de René Magritte.

Le Ruban Bleu Ciel


Encres vagabondes

Encres vagabondes

26 Nov 2013

par Serge Cabrol

"Un magnifique album à lire..."


La Nuit des Sirènes se situe entre ombre et lumière, entre la vie et la mort. Hélène Kérillis fait évoluer ses héroïnes, en dessins très colorés, parmi des extraits de six tableaux, principalement L'empire des lumières, mais aussi La réponse imprévue, Panorama populaire, L'heureux donateur, La grande famille et Le modèle rouge.

Jane, une fois les lumières éteintes dans le dortoir, s'échappe du pensionnat et cherche dans la nuit son pendentif en or que Max et sa bande, pour s'amuser, ont jeté par-dessus le mur. Elle descend au bord du canal pour fouiller la vase mais perd pied et l'eau l'emporte…

Heureusement, de jeunes sirènes, dans un lac souterrain, se préparent pour la Grande Migration qui les mènera jusqu'à la mer. Et justement, elles empruntent le canal qui longe le pensionnat.

Une belle histoire, sombre et lumineuse, riche en émotions, qui permet la rencontre improbable entre Jane la solitaire et Iris la sirène…

Les dernières pages présentent les six tableaux dans leur intégralité et une double page documentaire sur le peintre et ses œuvres. Un des encadrés nous ouvre une piste sur la genèse du conte inventé par Hélène Kérillis. Jane est un personnage imaginaire créé par l'auteur à partir d'un événement dramatique de la vie de Magritte : sa mère s'est noyée dans la Sambre alors qu'il n'avait que treize ans. L'art a sans doute été pour Magritte un moyen de surmonter sa douleur.

L'ensemble constitue un magnifique album à lire, à regarder, à décrire ou à faire commenter par les plus jeunes. Une collection à proposer dans toutes les bibliothèques, un très beau cadeau pour les enfants qui séduira aussi les adultes accompagnant la lecture des petits.

La Nuit des Sirènes


Le Petit Léonard

Le Petit Léonard

Sept 2013

Le Coeur Tulipe

Dans ce bel album, l'art et la fiction se mêlent. Le héros, Joris, est employé dans une petite laverie. Un jour, sa famille est ruinée à cause des tulipes et le jeune garçon décide de se venger...

Cette histoire te permet de te plonger dans la Hollande du 17e siècle avec comme toile de fond La Ronde de nuit de Rembrandt, célèbre tableau conservé au Rijksmuseum d'Amsterdam qui vient de rouvrir après travaux.

Dans la même collection, La Maison Soleil autour du tableau La Maison jaune de Vincent Van Gogh.

Le Coeur Tulipe


Nous Voulons Lire

Nous Voulons Lire

Août-Oct 2013

On connaît Hélène Kérillis pour sa collection Pont des Arts chez l’Elan vert. Elle ouvre une collection, Art-Fiction, dans cette nouvelle maison d’édition bordelaise Léon art & stories. Le concept est le même, associant une œuvre d’art célèbre et une fiction inspirée par l’œuvre, ainsi qu’une page finale documentaire sur l’œuvre sous forme de questions-réponses.

Quelle est l’originalité du projet ? Il semble d’abord que la sortie de chaque livre soit en lien avec l’actualité artistique : 2013, réouverture du Rijksmuseum pour Le cœur tulipe qui part de l’oeuvre de Rembrandt La Ronde de nuit et réouverture du Musée Van Gogh d’Amsterdam pour La maison soleil inspirée du tableau de Van Gogh La Maison jaune à Arles, d’où la parution immédiate en français, anglais et néerlandais. Le projet est astucieux.

Par ailleurs la fiction est ancrée dans le contexte de la création et une analyse précise des détails du tableau ; une nouvelle mise en scène de ces détails, détourés et isolés, constitue l’essentiel de l’illustration. On y adjoint un narrateur, de brefs textes narratifs, et des bulles qui font parler les personnages. (…)

Dans La maison soleil, l’auteure ne s’est pas contentée d’un tableau La Maison jaune, mais utilise plusieurs œuvres de l’époque d’Arles. Le narrateur est Camille, fils du facteur Roulin, dont l’auteure utilise les deux portraits (le Postier et Camille Roulin), mais également La Chambre et l’Autoportrait de Van Gogh de 1887. La narration repose sur le regard de cet enfant sur le peintre, à la croisée de l’histoire réelle (la dispute avec Gauguin et l’oreille coupée) et de l’invention plausible : la vie du peintre à Arles, les racontars et le rejet d’une petite ville. C’est un épisode biographique romancé et la construction des images est intéressante, la juxtaposition des détails révélant la folie du jaune qui obsède le peintre.

Ces deux ouvrages cherchent à être plus près de l’histoire de l’art que de la fiction. Ils sont d’abord le fruit d’un regard minutieux sur l’oeuvre, puis l’imagination comble les trous, crée l’empathie, libère les émotions. On attend la suite avec intérêt… C. CS.

Mention 'Très bon ouvrage' pour la Maison Soleil

Le Coeur Tulipe

La Maison Soleil


Valeurs Mutualistes

Valeurs Mutualistes

Juil-Août 2013

En accompagnement de la réouverture, à Amsterdam, du Rijksmuseum (Musée national) et du musée Van Gogh, deux albums pour initier les 6 à 8 ans à deux chefs d'oeuvre de la peinture et à l'univers de leurs auteurs, Rembrandt et Van Gogh, via la fiction.

Ces deux albums ont été traduits en Anglais et en Néerlandais (Ed. Léon art & stories) et leur auteure, Hélène Kérillis, dont les axes de travail consistent à donner accès au patrimoine commun et faire oeuvre de création personnelle, est membre de la Charte des Auteurs et Illustrateurs de Jeunesse.

Le Coeur Tulipe

La Maison Soleil


Crokalire

Crokalire

Avr-Juin 2013

par Irène Moers

Zoom sur une nouvelle maison d'édition "Léon art and stories"

L’auteur et illustratrice Hélène Kérillis a déjà créé deux collections à succès : Ma première mythologie chez Hatier et Pont des arts chez L’élan vert.

Ici le concept est original : de l’émotion et du suspense pour pénétrer dans le monde d’artistes connus.

Chaque livre a été édité en référence à un grand événement culturel. Pour La maison Soleil, l’exposition Le grand atelier du Midi à Marseille et pour Le coeur Tulipe, la réouverture du Rijksmuseum à Amsterdam.

Un coup de coeur pour cette collection.

Le Coeur Tulipe

La Maison Soleil